Isn’t it interesting to think of this argument between Jesus and the devil as we would if it happened in our lives?

Some of Jesus arguments don’t even make sense all the way to a human mind. He doesn’t directly refute what the devil says, because we see here that the devil can use scriptures and even absolute factual truth as a twisted weapon.

This points to a few things I find interesting. One is that we don’t need to find direct arguments for everything anti-Christ. We need only to speak scripture over evil to make it flee. Any scripture in a pinch will surely remind the devil that we live under the true power of the One True God.

Second, I see how we get caught by the devil in semantics and details. We think that we need to be debate club logic champion when really all we need in an argument is to check the scriptures and ask for discernment.

The Lord is Master of All Logic and Reason as well as being Himself All Truth.

We need no other argument.

I pray today that we Christians will work harder to submit all trouble to Christ. We will take every argument and ask, “Lord, what would you have me say to this?”

Even should the argument be internal, merely a tug of war amidst temptation, I pray we would all do more of this.

Lord,

In my increasing efforts to submit my tongue to You, I pray You will help me remember to stay in relationship with You during arguments and times of temptation.

Let me always recall that You know every answer, but You judge us by our hearts, and not our detailed knowledge or how many imaginary points we get others to concede.

Let me always know that when I feel I’m losing these kinds of battles, any scripture will be helpful. You give us every tool we need, Lord, when we seek You first.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Leave a comment